Paper , Order, or Assignment Requirements
Step 1: Allocate Costs
You have been asked to look at production options for the Android01 since production methods and allocation of costs have implications for cost-per-unit. There are two alternative methods of production being considered. Begin by gathering data (using financial information in decision making), then answer various questions to determine the suitability of the project.
Costs are as follows:
$4.5 million per year in rent for factory and machinery
components and labor in the amount of $12 million will produce 300 units per year
In an alternative production method, the production of Android01 will share some production facilities and service divisions with Processor01. Fixed costs are $5 million per year, and are to be assigned at the rate of 30 percent to Android01 and 70 percent to Processor01.
The variable cost of the production facilities and service divisions is $20 million per year. The square footage of factory space and labor needed for the production of 500 units of Processor01 and 300 units of Android01 are listed below.
Sq. Ft. Labor
Processor01 (500 units) 70,000 120
Android01 (300 units) 30,000 80
The remaining cost for the production of Android01 is for components, at $25,000 per unit.
Question 1: In Method B, what would be the cost-per-unit of producing Android01 using factory space as the allocation basis? What would be the cost-per-unit using labor as the allocation basis?
Before starting on your calculations, review materials on production cost allocation.
Submit your Allocation of Costs Report and Calculations. Be sure to show your calculations in Excel and provide a narrative analysis in PowerPoint. Your narrative analysis should summarize the results of your analysis and make recommendations for the benefit of
Step 2: Activity-Based Costing
An alternate method of assigning costs is activity-based costing. The major activity for the production of both Processor01 and Android01 is component assembly. There will be a total of 125,000 assemblies per year for the production of 500 units of Processor01 and 300 units of Android01 at a total cost of $25 million. Each unit of Android01 will require 180 assemblies. The remaining cost for the production of Android01 is for components, at $25,000 per unit.
Question 2: What would be the cost per unit of producing Android01 using activity-based costing?
3.1 Identify numerical or mathematical information that is relevant in a problem or situation.
3.2 Employ mathematical or statistical operations and data analysis techniques to arrive at a correct or optimal solution.
3.3 Analyze mathematical or statistical information, or the results of quantitative inquiry and manipulation of data.
3.4 Employ software applications and analytic tools to analyze, visualize, and present data to inform decision-making.
10.5 Develop operating forecasts and budgets and apply managerial accounting techniques to support strategic decisions.
Paper , Order, or Assignment Requirements
Purpose of Assignment
The purpose of this assignment is to allow the student to calculate the project cash flow using net present value (NPV), internal rate of return (IRR), and the payback methods.
Resources: Corporate Finance
Create a 350-word memo to management including the following:
Describe the use of internal rate of return (IRR), net present value (NPV), and the payback method in evaluating project cash flows.
Describe the advantages and disadvantages of each method.
Calculate the following time value of money problems:
If you want to accumulate $500,000 in 20 years, how much do you need to deposit today that pays an interest rate of 15%?
What is the future value if you plan to invest $200,000 for 5 years and the interest rate is 5%?
What is the interest rate for an initial investment of $100,000 to grow to $300,000 in 10 years?
If your company purchases an annuity that will pay $50,000/year for 10 years at a 11% discount rate, what is the value of the annuity on the purchase date if the first annuity payment is made on the date of purchase?
What is the rate of return required to accumulate $400,000 if you invest $10,000 per year for 20 years. Assume all payments are made at the end of the period.
Calculate the project cash flow generated for Project A and Project B using the NPV method.
Which project would you select, and why?
Which project would you select under the payback method? The discount rate is 10% for both projects.